Of Blogging and Emesis

I have a rather strained relationship with blogging. I used to write a blog, once upon a time, and for a while, I was close to being prolific in my output. However, life intervened, and I decided that I lacked the time and energy to devote to blogging. It can consume tremendous amounts of time and psychic resources if you let it, and since I set rather high standards for myself, I realized that I just didn’t have the resources to devote to it. So I stopped.

This is the part where I’m supposed to say “but then…” . Don’t hold your breath. I am as resource-poor as ever I was, and that is not likely to change any time soon. What has changed, though, is that I no longer have a daily outlet for the piles upon piles of words that run through my mind. I can only subject my poor wife to so much.

So guess what, Internet? You’re now my mental bedpan, a landing place for all of the words I can no longer keep in my head. I don’t care much this time around how many readers I get or how many people comment. I appreciate both those things, of course, but I won’t gauge whether blogging is worthwhile by that yardstick.

If you’re reading this, enjoy! Expect posts on philosophy, movies, my son, philosophy, religion, some more about movies, and some other things too.

Leave a Reply

